top of page

Our History

In 1903, Hampton’s boating enthusiasts founded the Virginia Yacht Club and in 1906 issued stock and erected a clubhouse on pilings at the foot of Victoria Boulevard. Interest dwindled during the Great War and the clubhouse fell into disrepair. In 1926, six men, not associated with the Virginia Yacht Club, formed the Hampton Yacht Club (HYC) and were ceded gratis the property of the old club. Since that time, HYC has been a yachting and social center of the Virginia Peninsula.

Power, as well as, sailboat racing were featured competitive activities in the early years with the Virginia Gold Cup being awarded for powerboat racing from 1933 to 1949. The club sponsored sailing events from small boat regattas featuring its own Hampton One Design sailboat to ocean racing events such as the 1941 Storm Trysail Club – HYC race from New London, Connecticut to Hampton. In 1995, the club sponsored the fifty-fifth running of the Virginia Cruising Cup from Annapolis to Hampton. However, HYC is considerably more than a yacht club for racing sailors. Sailing is truly a family affair, from the family of crew who laugh and party with each other after the Wednesday night and weekend races, to the families who cruise for a day or a week or more to explore life on the Chesapeake and beyond.

Want to learn more?

You can purchase The History of the Hampton Yacht Club by HYC Historian James H. Shoemaker at the Club!

bottom of page